January 6-12, 2013 is National Folic Acid Awareness Week

– The information in this article is general and does not attempt to constitute as medical advice. Specific effects may vary specifically on an individual basis. Consult a professional before starting or stopping any medication or supplement. –
logo

January 6-12, 2013 is National Folic Acid Awareness Week! Folic Acid is an essential B9 vitamin responsible for the maintenance and production of normal, healthy genetic materials, such as DNA and RNA, in the human body.

The synthetic form of naturally occurring folate can be found in green leafy vegetables, beans, liver, and some fruit, however, people may either forgo these in favor of less nutritious food or the vitamin may be dismantled during preparation and cooking.

The significance of folic acid is well known in the realm of pregnancy, where healthy levels of the vitamin lower the risk of neural tube defects, low birth weight, and congential heart defects in babies as well as prevent preterm delivery.

But folic acid is making strides in the world of mental health as well. In the brain, the levels of folic acid affect production of several neurotransmitters such as serotonin, dopamine, and norepinephrine.

A direct correlation of folic acid shortage and instances of depression has been recently discovered in several studies: “Both low folate and low vitamin B12 status have been found in studies of depressive patients, and an association between depression and low levels of the two vitamins is found in studies of the general population1.”

Taking care to avoid folic acid deficiency has been shown effective in treatment of mild depression and anxiety when taken alongside antidepressants. The FDA recommends 0.400 g of folic acid daily, however this amount may need to be increased for the treatment of depression. Studies have found: “on the basis of current data oral doses of both folic acid (0.800 g daily) and vitamin B12 (1 mg daily) should be tried to improve treatment outcome in depression1.” Alcohol, sugars, refined foods, and nicotine may also decrease levels of folic acid in the body, specificially, “alcohol interferes with the absorption of folate and increases excretion of folate by the kidney2.”

DO you suffer from mild depression and/or anxiety? Adding a regime of folic acid supplements or increasing your intake of foods such as spinach, broccoli, okra, asparagus, bananas, and lemons have been shown to “enhance treatment response to antidepressants2” and may be a healthier, more natural option for you than increasing antidepressant dosage. Ask your healthcare provider when considering this option as the effects of folic acid may vary person to person.

References

Pictures

  1. http://www.folicacidinfo.org/index.php

Articles

  1. J Psychopharmacol. 2005 Jan;19(1):59-65.Treatment of depression: time to consider folic acid and vitamin B12Coppen A, Bolander-Gouaille C.

    MRC Neuropsychiatric Research Laboratory, Epsom, Surrey, UK. acoppen@globalnet.co.uk

  2. Mayo Clinic

    http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/folate/NS_patient-folate/DSECTION=evidence

Please also note: The Spina Bifida Association is the managing agent for the National Council on Folic Acid.

23 thoughts on “January 6-12, 2013 is National Folic Acid Awareness Week

  1. Pingback: GoFolic!

  2. <. Out of which 69. One thing that defines an alcoholic is a dependence on alcohol. It often is due to depression and a feeling of lack of control. I had an alcoholic in my life. " That rehab back in John's time included service work like washing floors. This may give you an idea of the family priorities. People tend to think the alcoholic goes into rehab and comes out all better.

  3. I usually do not drop a lot of remarks, but i did some searching and wound up here January 6-12, 2013 is National Folic Acid Awareness Week | Atoms & Empty Space: Your ‘Shatter the Stigma’ Database. And I do have a few questions for you if you do not mind. Is it only me or does it look like a few of the remarks appear as if they are coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of your community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  4. I was curious if you ever considered changing the layout of your blog? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  5. Hey there, You’ve done a great job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  6. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and all. Nevertheless think of if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this site could undeniably be one of the very best in its field. Good blog!

  7. magnificent post, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t realize this. You must continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  8. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I have learn this put up and if I may I desire to suggest you few attention-grabbing issues or advice. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  9. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Many thanks

  10. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  11. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon. Many thanks

  12. After exploring a number of the blog posts on your web site, I seriously like your technique of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site as well and tell me how you feel.

  13. I simply could not go away your site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual information a person provide for your visitors? Is going to be back frequently to check out new posts

  14. I absolutely love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own personal website and would love to learn where you got this from or what the theme is named. Thanks!

Speak Up! And Comment Below

